I Will Never Know: Reflections on my Privilege (Mini-Blog #17)

privA new friend of mine was recently denied for the 3rd time to have his student visa renewed to continue seminary studies. This makes me incredibly sad, but painfully aware of my own privilege and status as a white, cisgender, heterosexual, Christian male born as a U.S. citizen!

It also makes me thankful for how I’ve been so privileged to be born in this country and time. To be able to have always paid for my education even via loans. On top of that, my uncle’s wife being killed over a week ago makes me grateful for each day and how none of us are guaranteed tomorrow.

It is scary, but also encouraging because the ever looming death we all face makes us grateful and can, if allow it, to cause is to live life to the fullest, always “seizing the day!”

I dunno why I’ve been so blessed in life to get an education, to be born here in our country, to be alive still, to escape the clutches of generational sins that my sibs and I have escaped.

I lament more than I praise because I feel unworthy and undeserving. As Brett Dennen once sang,

“I wonder how so many can be in so much pain, while others don’t seem to feel a thing. Then I curse my whiteness and I get so damned depressed. In a world of suffering, why should I be so blessed?”

My privilege has allowed me a much easier life, despite my hardships, that many will never know! I will never know what it’s like to be a non-white, non-cisgender, non-heterosexual, non-Christian person born or not born in the U.S. However, I pray I remain always mindful to the plight of those not like me, who struggle, hurt, wrestle with, and fight for their place at the table of opportunity and equality that is at the core of the U.S.A.

One thought on “I Will Never Know: Reflections on my Privilege (Mini-Blog #17)

Leave a Reply

