Coming of Age (ˈThē Tranˈsendənt IV)

coming of ageThe song that is becoming my late 20s theme song is Foster the People’s Coming of Age. The lyrics perfectly fit what was 2014 and what is 2015 for me. The last year has been one of immense personal struggle and growth. One filled with a lot of being honest with myself, but the honesty has led to a literal coming of age, a coming to life. Mark’s honesty in this song resonates with me because I feel as if he and I are on the same journey. The lyric “And even when I’m wrong I tend to think I’m right” so describes my stubbornness and my shame. I’ve learned that it is my shame that primarily drives my need to always be right, to argue, to debate, and to shove my views around. However, it is in recognizing this that I can break free from it and come of age. Please give this song a listen. It’s amazing!

Coming of Age 

Well, I see you standing there like a rabid dog
And you got those crying eyes
It makes me wanna surrender and wrap you in my arms
You know I try to live without regrets
I’m always moving forward and not looking back
But I tend to leave a trail of death while I’m moving ahead
And so I’m stepping away

‘Cause I got nothing to say

Feels like, feels like it’s coming
It feels like, feels like a coming (it’s like a coming of age)
Feels like, feels like it’s coming
It feels like, feels like a coming of age

And when my fear pulls me out to sea
And the stars are hidden by my pride and my enemies
I seem to hurt the people that care the most
Just like an animal I protect my pride
When I’m too bruised to fight
And even when I’m wrong I tend to think I’m right

Well, I’m bored of the game
And too tired to rage

Feels like, feels like it’s coming
It feels like, feels like a coming (it’s like a coming of age)
Feels like, feels like it’s coming
It feels like, feels like a coming (and I’m burning the page)

Feels like, feels like it’s coming
It feels like, feels like a coming (it’s like a coming of age)
Feels like, feels like it’s coming
It feels like, feels like a coming of age

It feels like, feels like a coming (yeah it’s like a coming of age)
Feels like, feels like it’s coming
It feels like, feels like a coming (and I’m burning the page)

Feels like, feels like it’s coming
It feels like, feels like a coming (like a coming of age)
Feels like, feels like it’s coming
It feels like, feels like a coming of age

Leave a Reply

