Proust Questionnair

ImageThis is the Proust Questionnaire, not developed by 19th Century French writer Marcel Proust, it was made popular by him. And I came across it in The Church Music Magazine by The David Crowder*Band and decided to share my answers to all.

Your favorite virtue: Vulnerability. Showing up and being seen for who you are is vital. It is the key to an authentic life!

Your favorite qualities in a man: Vulnerability, tenderness, sensitivity, and strength!

Your favorite qualities in a woman: Vulnerability, authentic, sincere, humble, soft-spoken, gentle, and loving.

Your chief characteristics: “An insatiable desire to be better, truer, kinder, wiser than I actually am.”

What you appreciate the most in your friends: Loyalty and authenticity.

Your main fault: I’m not as dumb as I pretend to be, but not as smart as I think I am. My overly-zealous ways.

Your favorite occupation: Counselor/therapist, mental health professional.

Your idea of happiness: Becoming more and more human everyday, meaning becoming who God made me to be and helping others to do the same.

Your idea of misery: Complete and utter lonliness!

If not yourself, who would you be: The ideal man God has called me to be, but that I can’t seem to be or one of the following: Cal Lightman, Batman, Iron Man, or just sometimes anyone but me.

Where would you like to live: while I’m young I’d like to live in a downtown urban area in a loft ideally.

Your favorite colour and flower: I like all kinds of colors, usually the bright, fruity ones, but my favorite is yellow. My favorite flowers are roses.

Your favorite prose authors: I like the Existentialist authors, but I do not have much experience reading prose. I really want to read more Fyodor Dostoevsky.

Your favorite poets: Robert Frost.

Your favorite heros in fiction: James Bond, Batman, and Iron Man.

Your favorite heroines in fiction: “Those who are more than women without ceasing to be womanly; everything that is tender, poetic, pure and in every way beautiful.”

Who are your favorite characters in history? King David, St. John the Forerunner, The Tax Collector, St. Athanasius, and Jesus Christ, the Son of God.

Your favorite painters and composers: I like me some Van Gogh, and I enjoy classical music, but my favorite musicians/bands are Lydia, Foster the People, Bright Eyes, Fall Out Boy, and William Fitzsimmons.

Your heros in real life: MMS teachers, who have influenced me beyond words. Ron Paul. The Saints of the Church especially St. Polycarp and St. Adrian. My ultimate hero is Dr. Brene Brown and her work on shame, which has saved my life!

Your favorite heroines in real life: See last question, but I’ll mention Wanda Beery to be specific. St. Natalia (St. Adrian’s wife).

Your favorite food and drink: I love Noodles and Company’s Wisconsin Mac and Cheese. Coca-Cola and Sweet Tea.

Your favorite names: David, Josiah, Ezra, Nehemiah, Isabella, Jasmin, Autumn, Layla, Natalia.

What I hate the most: Ignorance, inconsistency, hatred, abortion, and bad theology…

World history characters I hate the most: See above answer. Not a fan of hatred! But I dislike Hitler and Nietzsche.

The natural talent I’d like to be gifted with: playing guitar well enough to write my own songs and the vocals to go along with it!

How I wish to die: Peacefully in my sleep full of years with my family by my side.

What is your present state of mind: Calm, but yet, anxious with a touch of despair over what comes next in life. Trying to be content, but yet not complacent!

For what fault have you most toleration: Overly-passionate.

Your favorite motto: O, Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, the sinner.

Leave a Reply

